Binghamton or Geneseo

My D was admitted to both schools and now has to make her decision. We have visited Bing and are planning a visit to Geneseo next week. I realize they are very different types of schools but does anyone have any thoughts. MY D has no immediate plans for a major but probably more liberal arts focused than math or science.

@whozitnow I graduated from Geneseo in December have taken quite a few classes at Binghamton as well, as I am a Binghamton native and am hoping to go there for nursing. What would you say is most important to your daughter when looking at colleges: academics, social life, the general area? I’ve found that both schools are very different in these respects so knowing what is most important to her would definitely help.

As far as academics are concerned, I personally enjoyed Geneseo’s small class sizes much better than the large lectures at Binghamton. I took one semester of a year-long course at each college, and the course at Geneseo was about 60 students with professors teaching the labs, while the course at Binghamton has over 200 students and sometimes TAs will teach the lab. Personally, I liked the small class size at Geneseo more, but your daughter may feel differently.

Socially, I thought that Geneseo was a very tight-knit community (~5500 students), and Greek life definitely has a big presence on Geneseo’s campus (about 30% of students are involved in Greek life). Binghamton is a much bigger campus and I don’t see people I know every time I’m walking around campus, and Greek life definitely isn’t as important here. I don’t know if joining a sorority is something your daughter is interested in, but it’s probably good to keep in mind.