Chance me for UW Madison

inner city female, white (mom immigrated from Turkey)

3.90 gpa
33 act
top 10% of class of 400
mn resident

girl scout for 8 years
graduated 3 year leadership camp
held part time retail job
volunteering at a childrens hospital

honor roll for all of high school
commended scholar for 2017 psat

3 APs
2 Honors
5 IBs

prospective bio major

I know my ECs are pretty bad and my scores don’t exactly make up for them, but if anyone could provide some feedback that would be appreciated.

Presume that’s your unweighted gpa. If so, looks good.

Your EC’s are fine. Quality over quantity is a good way to go. Assuming that’s an uw GPA you should be good, based on prior years. Are you applying to Letters & Sciences? Are you also planning to apply to UMN/CBS? :wink:

@JBStillFlying Yes to unweighted, yes to letters and sciences. I’m applying to UMN liberal arts for the biology, society & environment major. As a prospective premed student, I have been advised to avoid CBS so that I could possibly fit a minor in and still get my prereqs done without the extra requirement classes in CBS (like computer science). Would you agree?

@abcara Yes I would! CLA is a far more flexible college for tailoring your programs of study to what you need and liberal arts has always struck me as an appropriate degree for a pre-med track. You would hopefully get invited to Honors as well.

Good Luck to you!

You’re in, easy. A ton of people on this site have been overselling UW. I’m a current student and with those stats, it should be a cakewalk - you can probably expect some generous financial aid as well. You’ve done a fantastic job and I hope to see you here next fall!

yes, on target if not safety. But also depends on what AP courses you have. 3AP is on the low side.

The 5 IB’s are like AP’s. It’s really more like 8 AP/IB altogether.