Chance Me?

<p>Hi! I wish you all the best of luck with your applications! Thanks for taking the time to read this!</p>

<p>Gender:Female
Race: African-American
School Type: College prep, highly competitive, top public school in the state of Ohio, 90 in the nation
GPA: 3.6 (UW), 4.3 (W)
ACT: 31
Member of the National Society of High School Scholars, AP scholar, National Merit Commended Scholar
ECs: 4 year member of my school's competitive marching band (earned our tenth straight superior rating at the Ohio Music Education Association State Marching Band Competition), 2 years softball (one varsity, one JV), two years varsity lacrosse, member of the Community Action Team, I am a church tutor, played summer softball for two summers, worked on a berry farm (paid), marched in the New Years Day Parade 2009 in London, member of the symphonic band (we played festival disney last year)
Leadership: Held section leader position in my band for two years</p>

<p>I applied RD so I have a little while until I hear back. Any advice/criticism is open, I can use a bit of encouragement. Thanks again!</p>

<p>They normally look for top 10%, but I’d say that your ACT will get you in. Probably no scholarship though.</p>

<p>cincygirl, you will most likely be accepted!</p>

<p>In my opinion, you have a great shot academically at making it into The University Of Miami. The only draw back is that you probably will be offered minimal to no financial assistance. Can you afford the tuition, room and board and books and clothes and transportation, etc… ?</p>

<p>I can’t afford it at all. I am in one of the way lower tax brackets, less than 50k a year. That’s a bit discouraging…</p>