Chances at Harpur?

I plan on majoring in Psychology while also taking pre-med requisites. My SAT is a 1220/1600. GPA is 96.44 (My school is weird and gives it to me in this way). Took a few dual credit classes, and 1 AP class (They only offer 2 in my school). I have volunteered in a doctor’s office, I am a volunteer EMT, I worked at both CVS and Wendys during the course of high school, and I tutored kids at a local library. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! :slight_smile:

@Tehblino

According to Bing’s website, the average SAT is a 1360. So, your SAT score falls below average. However, Harpur is the most leniant of the schools, so they may take you despite the low score. Good news is that your GPA is within range, though (My school actually does GPA this way, too, it is weird when most schools do it in on a 0-4 scale. But in my opinion, the 0-100 scale seems more precise, since I think the numbers in the 0-4 scale can cover a range of different letter grades). My school offers a lot of AP but I think I went overboard with it by taking 5 this year, which was so dumb of me to do when I’m terrible at time management. Which two AP courses do they offer at your school?

@stechin
They offer only AP US History, and AP Statistics. I took AP US History. I also took two dual credit classes in Psychology 101, and Speech Communications.
Realistically, do you think I have a good shot at getting in? This is like my top school.

@stechin

I was curious. Since you want business, did you apply to Albany? I know it is not as prestigious as Bing, but they do have an excellent business program. Especially in accounting. My son applied there but has not heard back yet. Albany has alot of top firms coming up to recruit. Again, I am not saying it is as prestigious as Bing, but with regards to accounting, they are a close second to Bing.

@Tehblino