Chances for Texas A&M Engineering

I’m just wondering what my chances of getting accepted are based on my academic/test scores alone; I am a Texas resident.

GPA: 4.26
Class Rank: 149/776 (About Top 19%)
Old SAT: 1990. 650 Math, 710 Critical Reading, 630 Writing
New SAT (using conversion chart): 1400

Based on your results you are considered an academic automatic admit. Because you are in the top 25% and you reached the minimum old SAT score of a 1300 with at least a 600 on Math and 600 on Reading, this is what causes you to still be an automatic admit. http://admissions.tamu.edu/freshman/admitted

Based on your SAT, you are an academic admit to the university. You will not get into engineering based on your scores or academic admit status. They are going to look for your readiness to handle the first year curriculum. What are the rest of your stats and classes you will have completed by end of Sr. year, especially math and science.

This year I am taking AP Bio, AP Lit, PreAP Pre-calculus, AP German, AP Gov, and AP Macroeconomics. Last year I took AP Physics, AP Lang, PreAP Algebra 2, PreAP German, and AP US History. I submitted my application early so I wasn’t able to determine my extracurriculars for this year, but last year I was a member of my school’s Varsity Debate Team, Robotics Club, and German National Honor Society.

What is going to hurt your chances is that you are taking Pre AP Calculus and not Calculus BC as a senior and should have already taken Calculus AB. First semester engineering math is Calculus and without higher classes of calculus in high school, you will not place well on the Math Placement Exam (MPE) and you certainly would not be able to perform in the class. The other class you take first semester is Physics 218, which is calculus bases.