Chances of getting into UCLA/USC/UCSD

Hi everyone,

I have a 3.73 GPA (unweighted, 10th-12th grade) and a 2200 on the old SAT.

AP Scores:
Chemistry -3
Bio -4
English Language - 5
Chinese - 5
Calc AB - 5

I’m currently enrolled in 5 AP’s (AP Lit, AP stats, APES, AP gov, AP Econ)
I participated in a summer research opportunity at Caltech and I’m an officer for 2 clubs at my school

Do you guys think I have a good shot at UCLA, USC, and UC san diego?
Please comment below. Thank you! :slight_smile:

UC GPA? https://rogerhub.com/gpa-calculator-uc/

Intended major?

Competitive test scores but UC’s are vert GPA focused. Your intended major will make a difference in your chances.

Freshman admits for UC GPA of 3.40-3.79 based on 2015 data:

UCB: 2%
UCLA: 3%
UCSD: 6%
UCD: 11%
UCSB: 13%
UCI: 16%
UCSC: 47%
UCR: 64%
UCM: 80%

Freshman admits with UC GPA if 3.80-4.19
UCB: 12%
UCLA: 14%
UCSD: 39%
UCSB: 49%
UCD: 52%
UCI: 57%
UCSC: 83%
UCR: 90%
UCM: 92%

The more competitive/selective the major the higher the stats needed.

Unweighted GPA: 3.71
Weighted GPA: 4.13
Weighted and Capped GPA: 4.04

I’m planning to go into Biology (pre med). I thought UC’s didn’t evaluate you based on your major unless you apply to a specialty school (engineering, theatre, etc.)

Would UCs rather see B’s in AP classes, or all A’s in all regular classes?

Thank you

Each UC admits differently.

UCSD admits into the university first then into the major. Biological Sciences is a capped/impacted major at UCSD, so you the competition is fierce for those coveted spots. They recommend that if you are applying to a capped major, to select an alternate non-capped major just in case. It is possible to be admitted into the University but not into your major. Capped majors will be difficult to switch into later so keep this in mind.

For UCLA:
Q: DOES MY CHOICE OF MAJOR HAVE AN IMPACT ON MY CHANCES FOR ADMISSION?