Chemical Engineering

<p>I am currently an undergrad at UW-Madison entering my sophomore year, and I am a declared biochemistry major. But, with my new discovery of job outlooks/salaries for biochemistry majors, I am thinking of changing my major to chemical engineering. I have loved all the science and math classes at UW, so I am sure this what I want to do. Science is my passion, and this major seems like it fits me best. </p>

<p>The problem is the competitiveness of the program. I know that I have to apply and be accepted into the program. Unfortunately, I slacked somewhat my freshman year. After my first year, I have a 3.3 overall GPA and a 3.23 science GPA. I have taken Calc I, Calc II, Chem 109, analytical chem, and bio so far. Is there anyone out there with any experience applying to the chem e program or knows the stats of accepted applicants? The amount of people that apply and get rejected etc.? Any advise would be very helpful.</p>

<p>-Thanks</p>

<p>I am a transfer student and also apply ChemE. I am a sophomore student from U of Miami with GPA 3.95 and Science GPA 4.0. But i still haven’t got any notification.</p>

<p>If you get permission from the department, you can take the beginning CBE classes without being accepted into the major. If you haven’t done so try to sign up for CBE 250 (You can also take 255 at the same time I think.) It is the first course you have to take, and it is a prerequisite for further CBE classes. </p>

<p>I know that people often get rejected and have to apply again. Not being in the department as a first semester sophomore isn’t terrible, though you have to be in before your fifth semester. I have no idea if you will get in or not.</p>

<p>Your classes line up well with what a CBE major would take their freshman year.
I’d recommend taking Chem 343, Math 234, and CBE 250. You also look like you need physics 201 and 202 sometime.</p>