College of Arts and Sciences Scholarships

<p><a href=“http://www.as.ua.edu/home/advising/college-wide-and-departmental-scholarships/”>http://www.as.ua.edu/home/advising/college-wide-and-departmental-scholarships/</a></p>

<p>What is the usual range for the college-wide scholarships, and about how many recipients are there for each one?
Also, if I am majoring in biological sciences and Spanish, will I be eligible for scholarships in both the biology and modern languages department?
Thanks!</p>

<p>Students cannot declare a double major until they begin classes at UA. While it can happen, most departmental scholarships are awarded to current students, particularly those who are high achieving, but do not already have large merit scholarships.</p>

<p>Once you have declared a major in both departments, you are eligible for scholarships from both departments provided you are not in one of a select group of double/triple majors which are managed by only one department.</p>

<p>SEA_tide, that is what we kept reading last yr, but that is not what we found. Our ds has multiple stacking scholarships. OP, I suggest contacting the depts directly and asking them. </p>

<p>I would definitely be interested in knowing more about Departmental Scholarships. My son is a Texas high school junior with a 1300 CR/Math SAT score. He will retake the SAT next month, and the ACT for the first time thereafter to try to get to the UA Scholar cutoff of 1330 SAT/30 ACT.</p>

<p>I know from reading this forum that there are special college scholarships for engineer majors. Other than the nondescript information in the hyperlink at their top of this thread, does anyone know much about departmental scholarships for history majors such as eligibility and award amounts?</p>

<p>You would probably need to contact the dept directly to find out. I know for our ds that they were competitive type awards and not automatic like the engineering scholarship. They required applying/competing for them.</p>