Colleges for trans student

Hello,
This is my first time posting on CC. I am a parent of a transgender son, freshman in HS. It’s very early to be thinking about college I realize but my son’s trans identity makes me want to jump in and start gathering info from other parents/students. I’ve been to Campus Pride and looked at their list, and other lists too. Just want to get more first hand info from parents who have gone down this path. TIA

3 Likes

My friend’s trans son is at the University of Arizona, he started hormones in HS and had his breasts removed sophomore year in college I believe. He’s very happy there.

Ironic as several parents have warned me that Uof Arizona and the surrounding town is not a good place for lgbtq kids. I think staying in the blue bubble, northeast or Cali, is by far safest bet. I do have a friend whose son who is trans went to UChicago and had a great experience. Generally I would worry more about the surrounding town (especially outside immediate college area) and state and local level attitudes than the college campus itself.

3 Likes

Georgia Tech. Atlanta has a large LGBT community. I think you’ll find most college campuses are more open today even the religious affiliated schools. The Jesuit Catholic schools tend to be very liberal.

The college process is a marathon, not a sprint. I wouldn’t bring it up until junior year. Enough pressure on these kids already. Good Luck.

1 Like

Putting the university bubble aside, Pima County tends to be more left-of-center than the rest of the state, and was the only county to reject the constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage in 2008. I can’t speak for trans kids in particular, but the area is more accepting of LGB than other parts of AZ.

1 Like