Current Kelley freshman. Ask me anything!

Hey everyone, I’m a current freshman at Kelley and went through this process last year. I enjoy helping people navigate IU admissions, so feel free to ask anything about applications, the SSA, Hutton, classes, or Bloomington in general.

4 Likes

How does IU attract 17k fans at Assembly Hall on a weeknight? How much do students have to pay for tickets?

How many people are in your classes?

What’s the best thing about your experience in Kelley?

1. Basketball is the lifeblood of this state. It doesn’t matter if it’s a weekday or a weekend - we have one of the most storied basketball programs in the country and our fans reflect that. Games are usually later in the night, so students usually get all their work done beforehand and then head over. It also helps that we’re only around an hour from Indianapolis, so it’s easy for fans there to come.

I bought a ticket package for $450 that gives you nearly every home football game and a selection of 11 home basketball games. I think they offer a package for one or the other as well, but for most students I think the football + basketball combo is worth it. If you don’t end up going to the game you can always sell your ticket to another student, and I’ve seen big ticket football games go for $70+. On the flip side of course, most people are usually able to find a student selling their ticket for a game if they don’t plan on going to many games.

1. My largest class is lecture-style with 70 students (Econ) and my smallest is an elective with around 15, with the rest having around 30 kids. I will say that many of my friends are in econ, calculus, and finite classes with 300+ people, but I was able to cover the math classes with AP and dual credit. The more prerequisites you’ve knocked out before you’re on campus, the better off you’ll be.