Deferred from WFU. Any advice?

Hi everyone! So I applied ED to Wake and a few weeks ago I found out I got deferred. It’s definitely a bummer to say the least. I have a 3.8 gpa, I am a faculty appointed tutor at my school, I intern at my local zoo, and I am involved in lots of school activity/clubs and community service projects as well. I did the interview, and visited the campus.Wake is still without a doubt in my mind my number one choice, so I haven’t applied ED/ED2 anywhere else but I’ve made sure to apply to plenty of targets and safety schools. I’m just very worried because you never hear a lot of stories about deferred kids later getting accepted into their ED in general, so I’m curious if anyone as any insight on how often deferred kids get into Wake.I emailed a quick continued letter of interest to my regional rep. and got two additional letters of recommendation. I also submitted my Term 1 grades which I’m very happy about. I’m wondering if there’s anything else I can submit that would improve my application. I’m scared that I just don’t have enough to stand out-especially in the RD pool. If anyone has any advice or insight it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much and congratulations to everyone that got in!

This may sound unempathetic, but you will be best served by assuming your deferral is actually a rejection. If you get accepted in RD, take it as a pleasant surprise. Otherwise, it’s best to pivot to developing enthusiasm towards the schools that will most likely deliver a a positive result for you. Hang in there. Good luck!

10 Likes

I definitely agree. It’s actually refreshing to hear this in a way. All of my friends and family seem to have this unrealistic view that I’ll get in later on, and that I should just stop worrying about it, but I think it’s best to put the majority of my attention on some of these other schools at least for now. Definitely a downer though. Thank you!

4 Likes