Direct Admit Chances Without Hospital Experience?

I am hoping to get into a direct admit nursing program (I’m an upcoming senior). However, I’ve only just recently decided on becoming a nurse (I’m pretty sure now though) but have no hospital experience. My stats are pretty good (4.0 UW GPA, 1520 SAT, 7 AP, 4’s and 5’s on all, 2 varsity sports, volunteering, etc.) but I’m afraid that since I have no hospital volunteer experience I’ll be rejected. Can I still get in any direct admit programs, and if so, from which schools? Thanks for all the help!

Is there still time to find something for your fall semester? Hospitals, nursing homes, anything like that? Is there a hospital explorers club you could join?

I don’t think it necessarily precludes you from gaining a direct admit, but it is a missing piece. Perhaps you can explain it in a personal statement or essay prompt, if one is required.

Home state? Not all DA Nursing programs require Hospital experience but can be helpful to determine if Nursing is the right career you want to pursue. Volunteer now since there is time.

Thanks @bearcatfan and @Gumbymom! Is there still time though? College apps are due in just a couple months and I’m worried I won’t have enough time/it won’t be considered. Also, does anyone know if CSUF actually looks into if you have hospital or nursing home volunteering or not? This is what I found on their website under the FAQ section of the direct admissions programs:

Am I required to complete work and/or volunteer experience?No. An applicant does not need, and the School of Nursing will not consider, work or volunteer experience.

Thanks again for all the help everyone! I really appreciate it!