Direct-Entry Nursing Major (Upenn, UCLA, UCI, etc.)

Hello. I’m a high school student hoping to become a future Nurse Practitioner. I’m looking into direct-entry nursing programs but I’ve decided to post on this forum because I couldn’t find a lot of updated or information in general online.

I really want to get into a program straight out of high school because I don’t want to worry about transferring in junior year or doing an ABSN. I have quite a few questions so anything would be greatly appreciated!

For background information, I want to become a pediatric or family Nurse Practitioner. My top choices so far are Upenn, UCI, UCLA, Northeastern University, and Arizona State. Would any of these programs be good for my career choice? Do you have any insight into any of these schools?

Also, are there any direct-entry nursing programs with a 25%+ acceptance rate? I’ve searched around, but the numbers seem to be inaccurate or not updated. Northeastern University is listed as 13%, but I heard from a friend that it’s way lower this year. I also know that the UPenn nursing acceptance rate was around 5% for the class of 2025 but it’s listed as 25% online. I also know that UCLA and UCI’s is lower than the listed percentage. Also, all of these percentages dropped drastically from last year. Do you predict that it’ll continue to drop or rise back up for the class of 2026?

Also, does gender play a role in admission since nursing skews female? What activities have gotten you into a direct entry nursing program? Thanks in advance.

UCI’s admit rate for BSN Nursing 2020 was 1.6%
UCLA’s admit rate for BSN Nursing 2020 was 1%.

Are you a CA resident?

Some direct entry nursing programs have aggressive weed-outs. For example, Arizona State nursing requires its direct admits to earn a 3.5 college GPA each of the first four semesters to avoid being weeded out. Investigate weed-out criteria for each direct entry nursing program you consider.