Do I have any chance at UCs? (Low Gpa)

My gpa is terrible. Do I have any chance at getting into a UC? My preferences are UCSB, UCSC, and UCI. I also wanted to go to Boston University and NYU, but I don’t think that’s happening.

I’m a junior, BTW.

GPA: 3.00 (unweighted)/ 3.43 (weighted and capped)
Rank: I don’t know… but my school is known for being rigorous
ACT: 31
AP: 3 in Euro, 4 in Lang… taking APUSH, psych, and APES this year
SAT: taking it next week, plan on taking lit and math 2 subject tests

Extracurriculars: Editor in chief of a student run online magazine, internship at a local magazine, writing articles for the same magazine about exceptional people in the community, ESL tutor, 7 cup of tea listener, crisis hotline counselor, started own writing club online with 127 members, marathon volunteer, self taught guitar, 3 years varsity track, 2 years varsity cross country, 1 year junior varsity cross country (injury)

Achievements: been published (Is that an achievement?), CSF, runner of the year (freshman)… yeah, nothing much

Job Experience: part-time freelancer and editor

Hooks: URM?, first gen

Income: less than $22,000; mom’s a single mother

Major: Journalism
Ethnicity: Asian

Thank you so much.

UC’s are very GPA focused so your lower than average GPA will have a large impact on your chances. Your test scores are in range for the majority of the UC’s and if you a compelling reason for your lower grades, then they can be addressed in your essays which could help your chances.

Freshman admits for UC GPA of 3.40-3.70 are as follows:

UCB: 2%
UCLA: 3%
UCSD; 6%
UCD: 11%
UCSB: 13%
UCI: 16%
UCSC: 47%
UCR: 64%
UCM: 80%

Your best chances for a UC are Merced, Riverside and Santa Cruz. If you are CA resident, I would check out several good Cal States such as Cal State Fullerton, Cal Poly Pomona, Sonoma State, Cal State Long Beach, San Jose State to name a few good schools.