Engineering School info needed.

<p>Hi guys, i am admitted into school of engineering, and i just wanted to ask a couple of questions. I hope you people can help me. Being an international student i have no clue about the education system in american college.
So do i need to study really hard in engineering school during freshman year to get a good GPA (>3.6)? Do you guys have hard classes in freshman year? I heard people don't get as much time to study in college as they think they would because of involvement in a lot of other activities. Is this generally true?
Can any engineering student briefly explain and name the courses i would have to take during my first year? That would be great.
I know its a vague question, but i will ask it anyways.. How hard is it to get an A+ or A in american education system(particularly in uw madison)?
And The Most Important Question: my writing skills are really bad. American high school seems to emphasise too much on writing. In my country, we don't really have to be really good a writer to succeed. How bad is it all going to be just because of my bad writing skills? I still have 3 months before i start college and i am willing to improve my writing before i come, so if anyone could give me a few suggestions and tips on how to improve my writing, i would be so grateful. </p>

<p>Thanks in advance. :)</p>

<p>First, congrats on your admission to UW! It is a wonderful university, and you will indeed be distracted by all that goes on. </p>