George washigtonton university honors program

I have been admitted to the honors program at GW. I currently have other choices, specifically a higher rated university but as of yet I’m waiting on that decision as to wether I’ll be in honors or not.
Generally I’d like to know personal experiencess or opinions of the GW program.
Does it give you an advantage in anyway for internships etc.

Hi Possible Future GWU Student,

I am a current GWU Honors Student and Honors Peer Advisor. I study International Affairs with a concentration on security policy.

GWU Honors is amazing.

One of the best things is that you meet an incredible community of students. Pretty much all my friends are Honors students. You get access to opportunities and classes others can’t take.

Now I get why you focus on internships. They matter and I am just like you. For reference, I am a sophomore and I currently work at the State Department as a paid intern (pretty rare). I have friends who do all sorts of crazy stuff, and yes Honors does help with internships. Nothing on your HS resume really matters to employers after freshman year, so Honors is a great way to distinguish yourself. Honors courses tend to be rigorous (the hardest courses I have had were Honors and Arabic) and involve a significant writing portion, which requires critical thinking. Also, some of the best professors on campus choose to teach Honors courses since they know the students are really dedicated to the material. These are skills that matter to employers and hiring managers.

We also have separate Honors Academic Advisors who are the best. They are an amazing resource as you plan your 4 years.