Getting in with a low gpa and test scores [FL resident, 3.0 UW GPA, 26 ACT, kinesiology or health sciences]

brief info

I’m a high school senior from FL.

I have several incredible extracurriculars, 3 club officer positions, 300+ service hours, and a job. i earned a special academic diploma at my school, and have 4 quality letters of recommendations from teachers, employers, and community service leaders.

Nearly all classes I have taken were AP or honors.

I am very confident in my essays I wrote on my applications.

I am upper middle class and my budget for college would anywhere under 75,000.

the problem here is that i have an unweighted GPA of 3.0, a weighted GPA of 3.8 and a 26 ACT composite score. I am ranked 303/755. I wrote in the additional info section for the drop in GPA, I had extenuating circumstances.

i was accepted into 2 high acceptance rate schools but I also applied to some reaches and targets.

please tell me: where i may have a chance of getting in so i can apply to a few more places that i am actually likely to get into based on my scores academics and activities

thank you.

What schools have you already applied to?

University of South Florida, FSU, UF (i already know UF is going to say no to me), FIU, FAU, Auburn, CU Boulder, Mizzou, Michigan State, LSU so far. I would like some more so I can apply to some I have a good chance at.

Need the list - but if you applied - say to an FAU type school, they’re great…what’s the problem?

You’re GPA and test will outweigh all else.

And btw - high acceptance doesn’t = bad.

Both my kids chose high acceptance schools (Alabama, College of Charleston) over schools like UF, UGA Honors, etc.

One is an engineer at the same rate of pay and working with kids from the high ranked school he turned down. The other is interning in DC at a highly ranked think tank.

What you do with your opportunities is what matters - not where you go.