Good Advice?

<p>I'm an HNFE major at VT next year and I come from a pretty small, rural town in western VA. I'm sure I'll get advice from college friends on getting ready before fall semester starts, but i'd like to be prepped as possible for life in Blacksburg. Any suggestions? I need all the advice I can get!</p>

<p>What kind of advice are you wanting? I’m a sophomore at VT and would be happy to answer any questions you might have. I’m a Biology major, so I guess that is somewhat related to HNFE. You can PM me or ask on this post.</p>

<p>I spent 4 years in Blacksburg and I know the area pretty well. What do you want to know?</p>

<p>thanks :slight_smile: i appriciate it- just general things to know- the difficulty of classes like freshman biology/chemistry, how many credits to take first semester, best places to find quick but healthy food, anything you can think of that helped you or you wished you knew your freshman year!</p>

<p>Difficulty of Classes:</p>

<p>Difficulty of classes can be determined by two things:

1. How often you attend class
  2. The instructor you get</p>

<p>Courses can be completely different based on the teacher you get. For instance: I had a really good teacher for Freshman English. I only had to do my required writing and that was it. One of my friends had a more difficult class where they had to read novels and do in-class assignments. Same exact class; different teacher.</p>

<p>Class become more difficult if you skip them often. You will miss material. Most teachers don’t do a recap. They just don’t have time in 50 minute courses. If you miss a days class, make sure to find notes somehow or you will more than likely miss a section or two per chapter.</p>