Housing

<p>I know this issue has been brought up a few times, but I've a different question since i'd e coming in the spring. I'm currently out of town and will probably come to Madison (for the first time) on the 13th+ of January. I'm new to Madison. i know we start on the 20th. I was wondering if 1 week is enough to look for an apartment. I have checked the housing on the Wisconsin site and craigslist. Found a couple which are alright, however, it would feel much better if I see it in person not to mention I don't know what location i should be focusing on which is close to campus. So in a nutshell, is 5 - 7 days enough time to find an apt and what specific location is good (name of the building, or the area, or the city etc.)</p>

<p>p.s. I dont want dorms. </p>

<p>thnx in advance</p>

<p>hi glitchy,</p>

<p>by Wisconsin site, do you mean the Marketplace in Facebook? If you haven't checked it there yet, I will suggest you to do so. Tons of people are looking for subletting their places there. 5 - 7 days is more than enough, I guess. 3, I say, will be just fine. Have you found a place to stay for those early days you're gonna be in Madison? Speaking of specific location, I can help you over here if you have more specific questions or preferences.</p>

<p>By Wisconsin site I mean the official Welcome</a> to the UW-Madison Division of University Housing Home Page
For the early days i'd probably be staying in a motel. I'll probably check out the market place on facebook, even though I don't know how; if you can provide me with the link i'd appreciate. I don't have a specific location, as long as it's close enough to campus. 15 min walk or 5 min drive i guess.</p>

<p>So correct me if i'm wrong, but you're a transfer student looking for a sublet for the spring semester off-campus but close. Am I right?</p>