How am I supposed to decide between AP classes

Hi everyone, I’ve been looking on this sight but can’t find an answer to my problems. I want to go to a highly selective college like the University of Chicago but don’t know if I’m on the right track. Firstly, I’m a freshman and I have a 4.16 GPA, I also volunteer at multiple places and go to a polish school. I am on two sports and am in multiple clubs. Now my real problem is deciding on my 4 year schedule.

Currently taking
Honors English
PE
Honors Bio
Honors Algebra
Spanish 2
2 electives
Western Civ

What I can’t decide on is choosing between AP computer Science principles and AP euro for next year. Please help

What other courses are you planning on taking?

AP Euro as a sophomore may not be a good idea. It’s writing intensive and along with AP US History it’s considered one of the harder non-STEM AP classes.

My son took AP Euro as a senior and did fine, but a lot of sophomores were in his class and they did poorly on the essay/DBQ prompts that they were given for AP practice. And less than 10% got a 5 on the test last year.

I’d recommend taking AP CompSci, especially if you’ve never taken an AP before. Like Hamurtle said, AP Euro is the hardest non-STEM AP.

@Hamurtle I am currently taking AP Euro as a sophomore. It’s pretty writing intensive, and depending on your teacher, you’ll have to read a lot of primary sources and write DBQs, LEQs, and SAQs on a daily basis. However, I’m more used to AP history classes since I took AP World History as a freshman, so I might be a little biased.

I am currently taking APCSP, and it’s really easy if you are capable of self-teaching.

“AP Euro as a sophomore may not be a good idea. It’s writing intensive and along with AP US History it’s considered one of the harder non-STEM AP classes.”