How generous is UMiami with financial aid?

<p>I am a rising senior and considering the University of Miami, but the price is extremely high and I would definitely need substantial financial aid to attend. Disregarding merit scholarships, how general is the U with financial aid?</p>

<p>Any help/advice is appreciated!</p>

<p>UM is amazing at meeting demonstrated need-based aid. It’s worth a shot to apply if you’re interested in the school.</p>

<p>I agree. I am an incoming freshman and I don’t have to take out any loans.</p>

<p>Their scholarships do depend on you ACT or SAT score though. My S applied there a couple years ago. Received 0 in merit scholarship with a 2090 on his SAT. I called and called. He had a 4.4 GPA, 11 AP and H classes. Captain of this, president of that! 300 community service hours. Financial Aid told me they had to put a hard stop somewhere and merit aid went to those with SATs of 2100 and higher. He was even a legacy…</p>

<p>Miami doesn’t consider your writing score, so the SAT would be out of 1600, not 2400… And I’ve seen plenty of students get merit aid with less than a 1400 SAT, which would be the 2-score equivalent of a 2100, so I think that the particular Financial Aid officer you spoke to gave you misinformation.</p>

<p>Just recently I was made aware of a student who had all of the great merits of Rice1961 and was told that because the class rank was not in the top 5 percent, that was the reason for lack of generosity with fin. aid. </p>

<p>So, as great as all of the other things are on the resume, the bottom line is a high 33+ ACT or 1400 + SAT, class rank 1-5% for the best $$, and GPA. The other stuff is great, but doesn’t count in the $ game.</p>

<p>Just saw today that the freshman scholarship page on the UM website is totally new from when my DS was waiting for his decision. I did not see any specific stats listed as in the past. I’m on my phone, otherwise, I’d post the link here.</p>