How hard is baruch college's BBA in Accounting

<p>I have been accepted to baruch as a transfer. My current school is a private community college. I didn’t have to work hard to get As here. It is a pretty easy school. I’ll be attending baruch soon and i heard its a hard school. How hard will I have to study to maintain a 3.5+ grade? I am an average student. </p>

<p>I’m in the same boat. Went to a CC for the first 2 years and easily maintained a 3.7 grade with minimum effort(I think I’m an above average student, but tend to be lazy sometimes). I’m really worried that I might not be able to survive the rigors of finance at Baruch.</p>

<p>It depends on the student. Accounting is a weed out major. Professors don’t tend to give high grades. However, with that said, accounting is akin to physics in one way: you will either get it easily or you won’t. For me, it came very easily. For a number of other kids, they had to work like dogs and still didn’t get the grades that I got. Thus, your answer is that “it depends on the student.”</p>

<p>The accounting program is pretty hectic. There are percentage rules regarding grading. Only 20% of the class can receive an A grade. The withdraw rate for a course such as Cost Accounting is higher than 50% according to my professor. You can only register for a course three times and you must maintain a 2.5 average among all of your accounting courses to graduate with a BBA in Accounting at Baruch. I was so excited coming to Baruch but with all the politics of the department it really is a disappointment.</p>