How Much Will U of Arizona Really Cost Me?

Sooo, I plan on applying to UA for next Fall. I’m an out of state student from Massachusetts hoping to enter as an English/Journalism/Creative Writing (maybe?) major. I have a 3.34 GPA weighted currently and an SAT score of 1190 but am retaking them. I’ve taken mostly honors courses and am taking an AP my senior year, plus extracurriculars and work experience, a good essay, etc. so I am almost certain that I will earn acceptance. However, I’m worried about the cost and what I will need to do to make UA a reality for me. I am assuming my low-income parents won’t be much help, so mostly I’ll be relying on aid, grants, scholarships, and loans plus I will be working while in school. If it helps, I am a first generation student. What kind of financial help am I eligible for? Will I be able to take out the loans to pay for my education? Beyond that, it’s my dream to join a sorority which I am aware is even extra cost though I’m hoping I will be able to work to pay for that. I am aware that it will be difficult, but I am willing to work my butt of to achieve it. However, I guess I want to know if I’m being unrealistic. As I’ve said before, no one else in my family has gone through this so I don’t have many people in my life to lean on for questions. Is education, money, and a social life too much to ask for in regards to my current situation? What do I need to do? Thanks!

Here is the cost of attendance for OOS students for 2017-2018.

The only guaranteed aid you will receive is a $5500 student loan.

If your family is VERY low income, you might qualify for a portion of the Pell Grant…but your income would need to be low. Is it?

University of Arizona does not guarantee to meet full need for all students. And they don’t. Their first mission is to provide funding to the instate residents whose parents pay taxes.

If you could get your SAT WAYYYYY up, you might get some merit aid. But even that isn’t guaranteed.