IB maths?

<p>Currently I'm a freshman in Algebra 2H, and I'm doing pretty well (95 for the quarter)
I'm planning on doing IB math HL (2 year course at my school) and am wondering which math I should take next year. I have the option of AP stat or math analysis & trig, although I could take trig over the summer and do AP calc or something.
What's covered in IB math HL? I'm not really interested in doing things repetitively, so I'm trying to figure out what I could take so as to avoid doing things twice. Does IB Math HL cover the equivalent of AP calculus BC and beyond?
And also how does it affect college admissions/which courses I'll take in college?
Thanks!</p>

<p>Okay so if you want to do well in HL Math, having a background in Pre-Calc, Calc, and Trig will strongly help you since it will be familiar. I took Stats a sophomore and can say I haven’t used any of what I had learned in that class. In our rubric we will eventually cover the stats basics apparently, but that’s about it. Please wait before you decide completely on HL Math because I suggest asking how hard it is. My school makes the Math teacher after your Junior year whether or not you can or should take HL Math and be successful. IDK if they do that at other schools, but I hope so. And HL Math takes Calc and goes deeper into it. And what are you thinking about majoring in, remember that you most likely will change your mind between now and in 2-3 years. If it’s heavily math based, then HL Math is better suited.</p>

<p>I haven’t decided completely on HL math but I’m planning on doing it, because I’m a math/science kind of person. At our school it’s a two year course so unfortunately a teacher doesn’t decide after junior year. So do you think, assuming I will take HL math junior year, that I should take math analysis & pre-calc rather than ap stat?</p>