Is bike theft a major problem on campus?

<p>Just wondering if bike theft is a common problem on campus. Are there a lot of bikers on campus or do most people walk?</p>

<p>Hi, I’m a current freshman.</p>

<p>I haven’t heard of any big problems with bike theft on campus. I would say that there are a lot of bikers AND a lot of people who prefer to walk. Personally, I love the convenience of biking, especially since it can be difficult to get from some of my classes in the Shelby Quad to the main quad in 10 minutes if I walk. I would say that as long as you always lock your bike to a bike rack with a secure lock you won’t have a problem. Thieves will look for easy targets, so don’t make yourself one! </p>

<p>my friend’s bike seat was severely vandalized, and got stolen on next day.
bike theft seems pretty common, and some jerks can even go far by picking the lock or tear off the bike lock ropes…
however the cctv are around pretty much everywhere, and if u see thieves riding ur bikes, it will be easy to catch(cant believe they think they can just ride stolen bikes around).</p>

<p>i didnt see many people who ride bikes compared to the number of students. most of them walk or take buses.</p>

<p><a href=“12 bikes reported stolen to UAPD this semester - The Crimson White”>http://cw.ua.edu/article/2014/09/12-bikes-reported-stolen-to-uapd-this-semester&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>Unfortunately, this can happen, my student’s bike was vandalized right in front of his residence house. It was locked and chained. Again unfortunately, there will always be some idiots who think damaging others’ property is a sport. It can happen anywhere. </p>