Is journalism dying or evolving?

<p>^ Due to the ushering of a new technological era with reddit, twitter, iCNN and others, is the long held idea of a journalism profession dying and more and more people are becoming "living" journalists? What's everyone's opinion on this?</p>

<p>This is a great question. I studied journalism 30+ years ago, and in those days we were taught the art of reporting the facts of a story as an objective, engaged, curious reporter. When writing news, any hint of bias was strictly edited OUT. Today it is becoming difficult to find that kind of voice anywhere–online, on tv, radio, print media. Many news stories are written in a style we once called “features.” Or worse, the writer single-sourced the piece, failing to to the leg-work with the pressure to get the story online ASAP. I have had many conversations with the kiddoes about using various web-based articles, blogs, etc. as sources for papers when they’ve taken the writer’s words as fact just because “its on the web.” </p>