LGBT Concerns

<p>So this might be a bit of an awkward post, but since this is college "confidential" I thought it might be a good place to bring up my concerns. I will be attending UW next fall as an entering Freshman. I'm gay and was wondering what the climate around the University is for acceptance and such. I'm not flamboyant at all (my own friends had no idea I was gay until after I told them...they were very surprised). I know Madison is known for being very liberal, but I can't see the University being the Brown of the Midwest (unfortunately). I was also curious about what people think about coming out to a roommate. Would you reccommend doing this before meeting (like on Facebook) or after arriving? </p>

<p>Thanks for any help! Sorry for the awkward topic!</p>

<p>No problem. Large gay and gay friendly population in Madison. Had a gay housemate 30 years ago and nobody cared even way back then.</p>

<p>I’m a lesbian and a freshman at Madison. I will say that while it is very tolerant, it can be hard to find other LGBT people if you don’t get involved in LGBT clubs and such. The dominant culture is very heteronormative. If you go to a party, for instance, it’s almost impossible to find someone who doesn’t want to get with the opposite sex. No one will judge you, but you might have a slightly difficult time finding like-minded individuals if you don’t want to get involved in clubs (which can occasionally be a little too political for my tastes).</p>

<p>Definitely don’t go Greek if you plan on being out. I’ve always wanted to be in a sorority so I went with that (and perhaps put myself in the above situation more than others) and it’s extremely heteronormative and a bit homophobic. I realize Greek life doesn’t appeal to many LGBT people, but if you do have interest, just know that. I myself have to be lightly closeted in the Greek scene and I expect it’s worse for guys.</p>