Miami, WashU, UNC-CH Honors, Rice

<p>I am stuck with this decision, and I plan to visit these colleges during this month.</p>

<p>However, I am interested to see what college you would recommend for a student that will be studying the biological/life sciences. Obviously, it might be a little biased here but that's why I have posted it to each college's thread.</p>

<p>What makes your college stand out above all of the others? If I were to pursue medicine, how would the facilities at UM help me?</p>

<p>Hey thought I would help you out. I am a current Miami freshman.</p>

<p>Miami’s Coral Gables campus has very good facilities for research. Here’s the thing though, UM’s Miller School of Medicine/ Jackson Memorial Hospital is located in Downtown Miami (about 3 miles from UM’s Coral Gables campus). This means you have to take a train (called the Metrorail) to go back and forth between main campus and medical campus if you were to shadow, or do medical research. </p>

<p>I am also Pre-med and what I have discovered is that research is looked upon positively but not required at all. However, medical schools DEFINITELY want you to have shadowing experience… this is a MUST. It is one of those unwritten requirements to gain entrance into medical school. Here’s the questions then, would you be comfortable with a medical campus on the main campus or does UM’s setup appeal to you? Because when you start looking for shadowing opportunities, a medical campus with a hospital will a higher availability of physicians who will assent to having you accompany them on their rotations.</p>