New Jersey Scholars Program 2018

Hey guys I was wondering if anyone from the past could shine some light on what kind of extracurriculars are needed to get into the semifinals for this program. Also, does GPA weigh more than the personal essays or is it the other way around? My counselor just gave me the form to fill out and I just want some more information about the program.

While I am not on the admissions panel, I was a graduate of the Class of 2013 for the program. From my understanding, there are no predefined requisites in your extracurricular activities. The program takes a holistic review of your application (similar to that of admissions officers at universities), and review it in its entirety.

Your academic transcripts, recommendations, and personal essays are all a vital part of your application. While I had a strong academic background, I knew other peers that had much stronger grades than I did. I wouldn’t worry too much about elements in your application that you cannot control. Focus on getting strong recommendations and writing strong personal essays.

Thank you! i just handed in my application today

Best of luck chaoticchef, I applied too. My guidance counselor said that she thinks everyone gets an interview. Did yours say anything like that?

If anyone has any questions, I am an alumni of last year’s program!

What happens at the interviews, what’s the process?