New student starting this fall- some general questions

Hello, everyone. I am an international student who just got admitted as the major of CIT. As getting ready for the college, I have some questions about BGR and housing.
I would like to start with BGR

1. Does BGR worth to go? I want to go but since I am international student, I need to plan the air ticket and attending to BGR makes a difference. Also I need to attend BGRi for 4days if I am going to BRG. Some people say that made friend from BGR, some people don’t So, I want to listen to your opinion about it.
  2. What do you actually do in BGR? Do you tour around campus with specific group?
  3. Before going to BGR, are we allowed to move in to dorms?

About house:

1. Tell me your opinion: Roommate or no
  2. If I do not want roommate, I go for First Street. I got this. But, what I am wondering is that if I do not get First Street then do I get stuck with just random roommate that Purdue chooses?

Now, I am only searching for these kind of information and it is hard to find about them. Can you guys help me please.
Thank You.

Just an opinion here. I think that being an international student it might be more important to attend BGR. It will give you an opportunity before classes start to get a feel for the country, the university, the types of students you will be interacting with, the values of the varying people you will meet etc. My D attended BGR when she started at Purdue and while she wouldn’t say she made friends, she certainly would admit that it made her initial days and weeks of class more comfortable. I can’t advise as to the roommate. If you were a US citizen I might recommend you live in a dorm with a roommate. Purdue has a lot of international students but I don’t know how they handle them when it comes to rooming.

My D was a freshman 3 years ago from another state and I got these conclusions:

1. BGR, If you can afford it, do come.