Not having Pre-Calc when going into IB Math HL

I’m a freshman, going into IB Math HL in my sophomore year. My teacher advises students in my Alg. 2/Trig class to take SL if their grade is currently below 95%, but my grade is above that, or take Pre-Calculus over the summer to gear up for IB Math HL. I am really busy over the summer so I cannot afford time to go to summer school. Would I be unprepared for how hard IB Math HL is next year as a future sophomore? Or would using sources like Khan Academy gear me up to be prepared?

I guess HL is a 2 year sequence at your school? Where my kid went it was a 1 year course taken senior year and most kids who took it had had both pre-calc and calc, so I’m guessing the two year sequence would cover quite a bit of calc in Junior year. So, this is a long way of saying without pre-calc, you’ll likely struggle.

If you plan on being a STEM major in college, find a way to squeeze in pre-calc. If not, SL will do.

https://www.ibo.org/globalassets/publications/recognition/5_mathhl.pdf describes the topics covered in IB math HL.

It does look like IB math HL is supposed to have 98 hours of instruction on precalculus topics (topics 1 through 4: algebra, functions and equations, circular functions and trigonometry, vectors), followed by 36 hours of statistics, 48 hours of calculus, 48 hours of additional topics (which may be more calculus), and 10 hours of exploration.

So (assuming that the 48 hours of additional topics are more calculus) it looks like a two year course covering precalculus and calculus, with some statistics and exploration thrown in. Assuming that IB math HL is actually a two year course at your school, since you are +2 on the math sequence (two years ahead), it looks like it should not be too hard for you, though IB courses are generally considered to be a lot of work.