Nursing Schools for Average Student

<p>My grades aren't spectacular especially with a C my freshman year in bio honors.</p>

<p>GPA: weighted- 3.7
SAT: 1930 superscored, 700 math 590 CR 640 W</p>

<p>9 honors, 5/6 APs</p>

<p>I am looking at rutgers, UDel, UPitt, TCNJ, Drexel and Scranton... what else should i consider?</p>

<p>I live in New Jersey and money is a very important factor. Will retaking the SAT help increase my chances of a scholarship?</p>

<p>Sorry if I put this in the wrong forum as I am new to CC</p>

<p>Everyone should take the ACT in addition to the SAT. The ACT is a very different test, and many students do better on one than the other. The ACT is particularly better if a student is better at science than math. Many schools will base their merit scholarship on your highest score on either test - even if the test is taken after you are accepted. </p>

<p>I’m guessing you probably will not get into U. Del’s highly selective nursing program, and U. Pitt’s nursing program may be a reach, but your numbers seem fine for many nursing schools. I’d add some additional direct entry colleges in eastern PA, such as York College (where the sticker price of tuition is only $17K to $18K), DeSales University (which just opened a new health care education building) and West Chester U. (which is a moderately selective public u. in a great town). It is valuable to be able to compare net price among multiple colleges - it is well worth the application fee.</p>

<p>I’d try to do some volunteer or paid work in a health care setting ASAP. It helps to show you are serious about nursing and that you know what you are getting into.</p>

<p>Try to get your applications in by early October.</p>