Nursing

I am going to be a senior in high school and I want to be a nurse midwife or a neonatal nurse. I live in Southern California near Fullerton California and I want to commute to college. What colleges have entry level nursing that are near me? I am also a fairly average student with an unweighted GPA of 3.5 and a weighted of 4.2 will colleges still want me??

there is a nursing sub-forum here you should post your question on (and read). You should also do a web search on “how to become a nurse” and you’ll find lots of info.

you are putting way too much restriction on your choice of colleges if you expect to live at home and become an RN. You probably can find local programs to become a LVN though.

If you are interested in becoming an RN then you should put programs called “direct admit” at the top of your list. These admit you as a frosh and guarantee you will become an RN if you pass your classes. Many schools don’t offer this; instead you enroll and after 2 years apply to enter the RN program. Spaces are limited, and if they turn you down then you are out of luck.

also you should get experience in health care now if you haven’t already. Many programs at 4-year colleges expect applicants to have real-world experience so they know what they are getting into. This summer would be a good time to start at a volunteer (or in paid work if you can find it).

CSU Fullerton has a direct admit nursing program but it is very competitive and the requirements are listed below. They also offer the Pre-Nursing program where you take 2 years of pre-req courses and then apply for the Nursing program.
You can also take the Pre-Nursing pre-req courses at a local CCC and then apply for transfer to a CSU or UC school.
All Nursing/Pre-Nursing programs are very competitive and impacted for the CSU’s.

For Direct Admit program:
Complete High School Courses
Complete the required high school A-G coursework.
Find out more about high school A-G courses

Complete H.S. Chem And Bio