PLEASE HELP! University or CCC Before Nursing School???

Hi I am a high school sophomore in need of advice.

Is it better to go to straight to a university (Pre-Nursing major) or should I go to a community college to do my pre-reqs and then transfer into a nursing school? I already know I want to go to a Cal Sate University (So-Cal preferably). Due to my grades (C and B in AP Calculus AB, two C’s in AP Biology but dropping for regular biology), I don’t think I can get into a direct-entry program.

Nursing schools I’m most interested in:
SDSU, CSUSM, CSULB

Thank you in advance!

Some community colleges also offer programs to become a RN. They issue an associates degree that is approved to let you take the RN exam. Many of those graduates finish a BSN later, often with financial help from their employer. Often there is a waiting list to get into a community college RN program, and you need to do well on prerequisites during your freshman year.

A backup plan could be to go to a community college for vocational/practical nursing.

It is unusual to take AP bio as a sophomore.

I’d recommend applying to a variety of colleges and keeping your options open, so you hopefully will have some choices during your senior year. Because California nursing programs are so competitive, I’d also consider some out of state colleges.

SDSU is a direct admit Nursing school for Freshman but you can transfer into the BSN program after completing your Nursing requirements at a CC or another 4 year university.

Since you are a Sophomore you have plenty of time to explore your options and come up with a reasonable list. Just remember if you do not get into a direct admit program as a Freshman, there is no guarantee that you will get into a Nursing program as a Pre-Nursing major at any of the schools or as a transfer.