opinions on marine science major in US?

<p>Hi guys, I'm an international student from spain getting ready to apply as a freshman. I've considered studying in the US and found some universities but not sure how good they are. Here are the universities i'm considering:
university of miami
university of southern mississippi
california state long beach
university of tampa
alaska southeast
texas A&M galveston.
If you experienced anything or heard anything about these your opinion is more than welcome :)</p>

<p>Check out post #10 on this CC thread. It’s informative, and you should also check out the links in the post – <a href=“http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/science-majors/1283876-marine-biology-biology-environmental-science.html[/url]”>http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/science-majors/1283876-marine-biology-biology-environmental-science.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>I’m not qualified to comment on the programs that you listed in your note, but that won’t stop me from doing so. Miami clearly has a top-notch program. The next three on your list are certainly lower tier type schools, so I’d be wary. Can’t comment on Texas A & M, but my guess is that it’s probably pretty reasonable.</p>

<p>Several of the UC’s offer marine biology as a major – UCSD and UCSB have pretty well-respected programs. I believe that UCLA also offers marine biology as a major, as does UCSC. But of course the UC’s have their problems, and are not such a bargain at out of state tuition rates. Finally, it may be too late to apply (I think the deadline was Dec 1).</p>

<p>Finally, a road-less-travelled program is at little Eckerd College in Florida. It’s one of the schools in that book titled something like Colleges That Change Lives. It’s literally on the water, and marine science is a big focus of the school.</p>

<p>Good luck.</p>