Opinions on the Block Plan

<p>I am an admitted student, and Colorado College is very high on my list. Top 2. However, I am not sold on the block plan. In fact, it is probably the only thing stopping me from committing. I have two concerns:
1. How do grad schools view it? Might they view it as lacking academic rigor?
2. It seems that a student at Colorado College would have a harder time double-majoring or adding a minor. For example, I am very interested in the International Political Economy major. It is 16 blocks. Since one block is 4 hours, that major comes out to be 64 hours. At most colleges, majors are around 30 hours. I'm not sure what I want to do, so I had always planned on adding many different majors or minors.</p>

<p>Anyway, I would love another perspective from CC parents or students. It seems like an excellent school, and the Block Plan is really the only thing holding me back.</p>

<p>I have taught at CC, so may not give the precise perspective that you are looking for (students/parents), but hope I can be helpful. I’m not speaking in any official capacity, but from my experience.</p>

<p>The block plan is not for everyone. It is good for you to think carefully about it before deciding. If it is right for you, it is wonderful, though. It allows a lot of flexibility in class format. It means there is a lot of discussion and other kinds of activities every day (games, small group work, on-the-spot projects or presentations) – no one can lecture or listen to a lecture for three hours. It allows for field trips and field work and other experiences that would be difficult to arrange on conventional academic plans. In some courses there is time off from class to work on larger papers or projects. There are also opportunities to take blocks abroad in addition to or instead of regular semester abroad programs. </p>