Out Of State Resources

Hey Y’all!

My name is Maddison and I’m a current sophomore here at UA (Phew - it’s been years since I’ve been on this site!) and I hope I can offer a future students and parents some resources that you may not know about that exist here.

On Facebook:
I encourage all of you to join the UA Groups page on Facebook - it is exclusively for students with a @crimson email address and has many useful groups including UA Rideshare, a page to find rides to and from the airport and to and from states. I have used this numerous times to find people to ride back to my hometown with me - we split gas and I have some company. There are also groups for specific classes, such as UA Class of 2018 and 2019, where students typically find roommates or post about events on campus.

Organizations/Groups:
We have a phenomenal out-of-state organization on campus called The 49. I’m the Vice President of this organization and we’re currently over 1,000 students strong. Our current president started the organization when he was a freshman four years ago when he noticed that the out of state population on campus was growing significantly every year, and wanted there to be a place where alike students could meet. Every year during move-in week we host a Kick-Off in the stadium where students meet others from their areas, get food, t-shirts, and make friends for a lifetime. We also host events all through the year.

The Source:
At the beginning of the school year, we have a “Magnificent Mile” type of event called Get On Board Day. Over 400+ student organizations and vendors are at this event where students can find out more information about student groups and really find the niche they want to be in.