Out of State Student Sorority Recruitment

<p>I am an accepted freshman at the Capstone this fall, and I am so excited! I am from Pennsylvania, but I was born in Atlanta and come from a completely Southern family. Both my parents attended southern schools (my Dad went to Bama and my mom to University of Kentucky). My dad was a Kappa Sigma and my mom a Tri Delta. Everyone is my family is greek so it is nothing new to me. I’m very nervous about being out of state and going through recruitment. Though I would easily be able to get rec letters for every house and my mom and her two sisters were all Tri Deltas, I know that at a school like Alabama these things can have no impact.
My main question is will it be difficult for me to get a bid to a good (or what some call Old Row) house? I have heard mixed things so I am just not sure. Also, any insider info on recruitment or what it is like for someone out of state is much appreciated. Roll Tide!</p>

<p>you need to go into it with an open mind. if you want only old row, then you just may be disappointed. i do not know how likely that is. you may be able to look at the bid lists from the past couple years to see how many non-southern girls get in to the old row houses. </p>

<p>seems like a lot of the most desired houses are filled with girls with personal connections to girls already IN the houses.</p>

<p>if you go with an open mind and maximize your options, then you should end up with a bid at the end of the week.</p>

<p>of course, i am no expert, so take my comments with that in mind.</p>

<p>Mike is right…an “open mind” or what we call “maximizing your options” is important.</p>