Prospective Transfer to Top School

<p>Hello all, </p>

<p>I'm kind of new to CC, and I was wondering about my particular chances of gaining admission to a top 30 school. Just to give you a little bit about myself: I'm a sophomore (junior in credits) at the University of South Carolina, a double major in Biology and English, and am interested in going into medicine (probably academic) or into a research based career. My main reasons for transferring from South Carolina is that I feel out of place on campus and I feel as if the facilities here are a very true reflection of what I am paying for in terms of in-state tuition (~$15K a year). The political/social climate is also ultra conservative and at times tense (don't even get me started about how charged the campus was after elections). I also feel that the campus is way too large and impersonal for students to really get to know professors (19,000+ undergrads). I'm also not much of a party person (although I do like a party here and there) and in order to do research, one must compete with grad students for spots. SO, I'm looking to transfer to possibly Brown, UPenn, Georgetown, and Vanderbilt! Any African-American CCers who have made the successful transfer to a top school that can lend some advice as to whether the difficulty to transfer is about the same, harder, or a tad easier for a URM? Thanks!</p>

<p>Here are my stats:</p>

<p>HS
GPA: 3.89 UW
EC's: Marching Band (4 years, including Sec. Leader), Beta Club (3 years, Secretary), NHS (inducted as Junior), French NHS, National Society of High School Scholars, Science Club, ACT-SO (Senior Year, science research), AFJROTC (Second Highest Position in Chain of Command, Highest Ranking Black Female Officer ever in history of program, in charge of 400+ cadets, did a couple Officer Training Schools)