Recommendation for college in the Northeast?

<p>Hi! I'm a student enrolled at a community college, and I currently have nine credits consisting of Western Civilization, Introduction to Psychology and Introduction to Writing. My college GPA for the first semester was I believe a 3.67, so I think I have a somewhat good GPA. I plan to transfer into a four-year university in the Fall of 2014, but I have no idea which colleges I should apply to. Many of these school have a complex process of transferring into a nursing program, which makes things quite difficult. Right now I'm looking at Quinnipiac University, UMASS Amherst, and University of Portland (only school I'd apply to one the west coast.) I applied to Rutgers SAS in hopes of doing a school-to-school transfer after a year or so of attending there. Would I be able to get into the schools mentioned about, and could anyone give any good recommendations on schools that I could get into? My HS stats are 3.6 Cumulative and 490:CR, 520:W, 520:M.</p>

<p>What classes should I also take next semester? The community college I am at is very limited in courses because it is on an overseas military base, so I don't have many options. I was thinking of taking an online Nutrition course, or complete my languages. I could take Biology, but I'm 90% sure that it wouldn't transfer well since universities are picky in transferring science credits.</p>

<p>I wish I knew the answers to your questions, but I don’t. My main recommendation is to apply to many colleges, to keep your options open, and to apply as early as practical. Many nursing programs fill up their seats early in the year.</p>

<p>It is good that you have psychology and writing out of the way. Spanish and nutrition would be very useful. </p>