Regrading 9th / Reapplying to 10th Grade - Seek Guidance

Hi
I am an 8th Grade student. I am considering reapplying next year when I am in 9th Grade. This cycle, I got admitted to two schools I like but I think I can get into top boarding schools next year. I also got waitlisted at Groton, Nobles, and Middlesex, but I am assuming that does not move. My 7th Grade academic performance (GPA of 3.7) and SSAT score likely brought my outcomes down for this season. My 8th Grade academics are all A+/A, and on SSAT, I am on track to be 90+. My extracurriculars, interviews, essays, and recommendations were quite good and will only further improve.
I am considering staying in my current school for 9th Grade and reapplying next year. However, I am born in September 2008, which makes me an older kid if I am regrading in 9th Grade. I am not keen to join 10th Grade because I think I will be playing catch-up to my class in a new school where the rest are settled and will impact my relative performance in a crucial year. Please help me with your guidance and view on the following:

(1) If I was born in Sept. 2008, would schools avoid me for a 9th Grade Regrade application next season? (Focus: Andover, Exeter, Groton, Nobles, Choate, Middlesex, Deerfield)

(2) If I apply and get accepted for 10th Grade - when most of the class was filled in 9th Grade, will that place me at a material disadvantage for the college application cycle? (As a new student, would it be hard to break into student council, varsity teams, etc.)

Thank you.

If you don’t mind be asking what were the schools you were accepted to, and why don’t you want to take an offer from them?

3 Likes

Just commenting on the two questions posted. Not commenting on the broader strategy.