Should I quit my student job?

Hello everyone,

At my university, I work as a tutor for several subjects. Over the course of my time working as a tutor, it has caused me immense amounts of stress, as I continuously tell myself that my work isn’t good enough and I consistently blame myself for lessons that are below my standards even if in reality they are fine.

I am well respected in the tutoring center, but I don’t respect my own work. I always feel like I could do something better and tend to be really overwhelmed and over prepare for my sessions. Recently, I didn’t even do homework and skipped class because of this stress.

I want to quit tutoring, but my goal was also to be a teacher in the future. If I quit tutoring, I’m scared I won’t make it as a good teacher. I don’t know what I would do otherwise. Tutors usually quit at the end of each semester, but I’m feeling like I need to step back because the stress is too much for me, though I realize I should probably stay until a replacement is found. What do I do? Would my students, professors, and other faculty that depend on me understand?

Seems to be more of a psychological issue than a time management issue. Perfectionism is a curse that will hold you back in all of your endeavors.

7 Likes

I’ve been seeing a psychologist over this. What do you recommend?

I think you need a therapist who will do CBT and ERP with you. You need specific techniques for anxiety/perfectionism. You don’t need talk therapy for this - you should be receiving evidence-based treatment.

By the way, I would never expect a college tutor to prepare anything. I would expect them to know the material and be responsive when a student comes in to request help.

5 Likes

Overcoming perfectionist tendencies is a part of healthy maturation. Stated otherwise, perfectionism is a sign of disorder combined with a lack of maturity in one’s life.