Strong majors for Pre-Med

<p>I am currently a freshman engineering student that wants to switch majors. After half of this semester, I am really hating the engineering major. My classes are going great except for calculus. I hate it. I feel that I am not doing very well in it. I don't understand my homework, I failed my first test, I don't do well on short "pop" quizzes and trying to get help for other students always ends in me becoming more confused. I take my online quizzes and I'm just completely lost. I cannot use a calculator in Calculus and that is the only reason I am even getting part of my online quizzes correct. I was always good at math in high school and I did fairly well on my math SAT. There is just something about calculus that I am not getting. Due to this, I cannot see myself doing calculus for the rest of my life. If engineering requires me to do calculus that regularly, I won't succeed in it. Along with engineering, I am also a Pre-Med student. I mainly chose engineering so in case medical school failed, I would have a job to rely on. Since I am considering changing majors, what do you think the best majors would be for me to be a competitive applicant for med. school and have a promising job outlook after just 4 years of college? I was thinking Biological Sciences or Biology, but I don't want to have to study zoology or plant biology to earn a degree just to go to med. school. Any opinions on this matter are helpful.</p>

<p>If you can’t do calculus you’re probably not going to last long in med school, were you even to get in in the first place. Any major that can get you into med school is going to require Calculus.</p>