Too Many Dorm Choices!

Hey Guys, I know you don’t really get to chose this until your time frame is e-mailed to you, but I need to plan in advance. We toured all the different dorm styles, and I enjoyed both modular and commons style living the most (obviously Hullabaloo Hall would be ideal, but I’m not sure that is within my budget :P). The modular seemed to have slightly larger rooms, but the only meaningful difference I could see was the Common’s shared bathroom situation. Could someone give me the pro’s and con’s of each? The social aspect, how well the buildings are maintained, etc. Thanks!!

My daughter is also struggling with this. Think she was leaning towards the Commons as they just redid part of it (not dorm rooms). However, I just looked the various buildings up and they appear to have an Engineering emphasis and she is biomedical (vet school), so now having 2nd thoughts. Would also appreciate feedback.

I’m currently a sophomore. I lived in Underwood last year (a modular dorm on Southside) and now I’m an RA in Clements ( a modular on Northside). If you want something that’s literally connected to dining options, go with the commons. They just opened the Commons area and dining this year. It makes me wish I lived on Southside again. While your daughter may be a BIMS major, her classes for the first year will most likely be located in central campus buildings. It’s ultimately up to your budget.

Modular Dorms:
Pros: bigger room, only share a bathroom with one person
Cons: usually quiet (from my experience) so it is hard to meet people, no common area other than tv lounges for people to gather and hang out

Commons:
I haven’t lived in these but I have friends who have.
Pros: literally connected to the dining area, study spaces, game room, bigger dorm with more people
Cons: not the nicest dorm (they are slowly being remodeled but that will take time), sharing a bathroom with the room next to you, walls are pretty thin.