Torn between the UCs

I applied to all 9 UC schools. UCR/ UCM were pretty much safety schools. UCI/ UCSB/ UCSC are kind of mid-tier on my list, they seem okay but didn’t really ‘wow’ me.

But here’s where I’m stuck. I know Berkley is an amazing school, but the area isn’t exactly the safest, plus I’ve heard horror stories about really great students getting caught in the high-stress ultra-competitive environment and not doing so well. On the other hand, a degree from there would definitely open up doorways for a career and they have an AMAZING English program (my major).

UCLA is great too. They’re well ranked in academics and in my major/ campus life/ good area. It would be perfect. Except I live literally 10 minutes from campus have overbearing parents that would butt in all the time if I went there. As a transfer, I’ve been fantasizing for the past 2 years about getting a little independence.

I loved both UCSD and UCD when I toured them. I have a few friends that go to each and are very happy. La Jolla is beautiful and Davis had some amazing clubs/ student life. However… They aren’t as highly ranked in English and don’t quite have the reputation as the other two.

I wont know where I got in for a while, but my chances are good. I have a 3.95 GPA, was a student government senator, president of a club, and started/ ran the campus newspaper. I was in honors/ Transfer alliance meaning my school has an agreement with Irvine/ LA/ Santa Cruz/ and Riverside where I’ll get priority admission. All my english professors told me that my personal statements were good. With the exception of Berkley which will be harder, I pretty much have my choice. I’m just not sure where to go with.

I will be easier to decide once you have the results. Right now relax.
Don’t worry about the neighborhood safety. It’s safe when you graduate on time.

I think you should wait and see which UCs accept you and then go from there. Even with good stats many of them are not guaranteed.