Transfer Chance me

Hi! I am considering transferring from Clemson to Umass Amherst and am wondering if I have a good chance at getting in.
I am a freshman at Clemson, and had a 3.43 last semester. I graduated high school with a 4.5 gpa and several activities although I did not apply to UMass Amherst last year. I have no idea what is required for UMass Amherst as a transfer.
Thanks!

“To have a shot at transferring into UMass Amherst, you should have a current GPA of at least 3.9 - ideally you’re GPA will be around 4.06. In addition, you will need to submit standardized test scores.”

My SAT was also a 1230 if that helps.

This might be a dumb question, but I didn’t know you could surpass a 4.0 in college?

Pretty sure the 3.9 is coming from HS not college transfer as 3.9 is the average HS GPA at UM Amherst. I’d say you have a good shot, though some majors like CS, business, nursing and Engineering are very competitive.

This is directly from their website:

Transfer Profile

• Average GPA - 3.35
  • Joint Admissions/MassTransfer - 310
  • 1,090 students
  • 3132 transfer applications

Thats what I was thinking too. I applied for communicative disorders.

Some universities give a 4.3 or a 4.33 for an A+. Some other universities do not even have grades of A+ (including some that do have A-, B+ and so on). I do know someone who had better than a 4.0 in a short graduate program and someone else who currently has better than a 4.0 over the first 3 1/2 years of a bachelor’s program. This is probably rare but does seem to be possible.

However, I am pretty sure that you do not need anything as high as 4.0 to transfer to U.Mass Amherst. It is a very good school, but perfection is not required.

I find it very hard to predict what it would take to transfer to U.Mass given a pandemic year plus the relatively small number of transfer students. OP’s very good high school grades might help given that they have only one semester of university which took place during a pandemic.