Transfer info - UW-Madison

<p>Blog post from a transfer admissions counselor:</p>

<p>Wisconsin</a> Blogs - Office of Admissions at the University of Wisconsin-Madison</p>

<p>Nice comprehensive information on courses needed for transfer et al- must read for prospective transfer students.</p>

<p>I am currently a freshman at UW-Oshkosh and hope to transfer to Madison in the Fall. In the blog post, she states that a wide breadth of classes is important to a successful transfer. Currently I am taking calculus 3, calculus based physics, and general chemistry. I will be taking general economics during our Winter interim. Even though my intended major is nuclear engineering, will this hurt my application as I have not had a wide range of classes prior to submitting?</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Tyson,</p>

<p>Dont worry about it. Just take a full load of classes, get above a 3.0 and your in. The transfer process to UW is a pretty easy gig, and a great alternative for those who were denied as freshman, its not challenging to get in as a transfer, but be ready to work once you get here.</p>

<p>@tysonwill</p>

<p>I transferred to Madison from UW-Oshkosh and I have a friend who did as well. It’s pretty easy as long as you do the following:</p>

<p>1) Get a high GPA (3.0 + at a minimum; around 3.5 or up and you’re basically a lock)
-I had a 3.4 GPA and my friend had a 3.8 GPA</p>

<p>2) Take classes that actually transfer to Madison (check the UW Transfer Wizard online to see what transfers. If a class isn’t listed, the general rule of thumb is any 300/400 level class will transfer as something)
-All of my classes except one transferred to Madison. My friend had only a couple classes that didn’t transfer.</p>

<p>3) Get a couple of letters of recommendations from professors
-I had two as did my friend.</p>

<p>4) Write a half-way decent application statement.