UC Davis w/Regents or UCLA?

Hi! I’m currently deciding where to attend college for Fall 2020. I was accepted at UC Davis as a Regents Scholar (30K scholarship, priority registration, extended library privileges, transcript notation) and UCLA (no scholarships/financial aid). My major is biology related at both schools, as I am taking a pre-med track and hoping to attend medical school after four years of undergraduate school. I’m not super sure where to attend because while UCLA is more renowned, UC Davis is giving me priority registration and money. The total money difference for four years between the two schools would be around 60-90k in my case. Is Regents at Davis really helpful in terms of choosing classes? Also, is it harder to obtain a good GPA at UCLA (since grades at UCs are based on a curve)? Is it hard to get the classes you need at UCLA?

Medical schools do not consider prestige when evaluating your application so attend the school that gives you the best chance for a High GPA, will prepare you for the MCAT, have access to Medically related EC’s and has good Pre-Medical advising.

Medical school is expensive so you want to keep your Undergrad costs low so affordability is important.

Having priority registration is one of the best perks as a Regent’s scholar but you need to decide which school will work best for you financially, academically and socially.

Happy students are successful students. Best of luck with your decision.

Thank you so much for your response! I’ll keep that in mind; that’s really helpful :slight_smile:

I have a follow-up question, @Gumbymom . For Davis, and for other UC’s, is priority registration important to get schedules you want, or moreso to even just get the classes you need? For my purposes I’m asking for a transfer student, so not about taking lower division/GE courses, but rather for classes in one’s major. Bottom line: could priority registration make a difference for graduating “on time”?