UM vs FSU

<p>I am also posting this in the FSU forum to get a different perspective. </p>

<p>My issue:</p>

<p>I am currently a student at FSU for the summer term, and had turned down University of Miami because I did not really like it. However I recently had a change of heart because I dislike FSU, and feel that the budget issues are ruining the university. I found out about the amazing opportunities pre-med students have at Miami. I have had my Miami admission reinstated and I can attend for fall. My question: is it worth if? I have joined some clubs here at FSU, and have become acclimated to the university. Miami will be 7k/year more than FSU. Do you think that as a pre-med student, Miami would offer much better opportunities to justify going?</p>

<p>Overall, Miami is a much better school than FSU. I can’t say much about the pre-med program, but I know there are a few on here who can attest to the fact that the program is really good. That being said, if you feel comfortable enough at FSU that you’d be able to finish the rest of your time there, I’d say stick with it. However, if you dislike FSU enough that you are truly miserable there, I’d say take Miami up on their offer. $7k/year is a lot of money difference, it’s just a matter of whether YOU think you’d be $7k/year happier at UM than at FSU.</p>

<p>As Marinebio said, UM has a much better program in general. For me, personally, UM would be 100% worth it. If you were pre-law, I would say stick it out, but the undergraduate institution you attend actually seems to play a significant role in med school admissions. Then again, a 4.0 GPA at FSU will still be better than a 3.7 at UM, so you’ll want to keep that in mind.</p>