Virginia Tech Transfers Fall 2011

<p>Just thought I would start one for people applying this semester</p>

<p>Hey jacob, if you don’t mind me asking: what are all of your stats and what school are you coming from? I have really bad high school grades (literally didn’t do anything, I was very different back then) and just decent SATs so I figured applying as a transfer for fall 2011 would be useless. Most people have advised me to wait until junior year to attempt a transfer so I was just wondering what your credentials are. Thanks!</p>

<p>Well i came out of high school with a weight GPA of over a 4.0 weighted, im not sure what it is unweighted, they never told me, I am coming from a better school than surrounding areas with competitive students, and have right above a 1200 SAT with 600 CR and 620 MATH, i am actually trying to transfer into Tech as a sophomore myself instead of waiting, and trying to get into the engineering program, I am also coming out of my first semester of college with a 4.0, what about yourself</p>

<p>I went to a really good high school in Northern VA and was not into school at all; I never did homework and rarely studied. I graduated with a really bad gpa, something like a 2.6. Despite my grades, I got into a few good colleges and I think that was mostly due to my school’s reputation and my SAT score (decent–1780 all combined). </p>

<p>I would have gone to East Carolina University, but it was just too expensive since I’m out of state, so I decided to attend Radford University (the only VA school I applied to). I have a 4.0 gpa after my first semester here because I’m doing my work and am really enjoying college classes. I’m really working up to my potential now, but I realize it is unfair for me to expect that I should be accepted to a great college after just one semester of good work, so I figured there was no point in trying yet haha.</p>

<p>i think it might be worth a shot, its not too late to apply</p>